UK Ice Hockey

In this section, you will find an overview of the things about the ice hockey in the UK:

  • the Elite League
  • player eligibility
  • teams and travel
  • silverware

The menu for this section gives you easy access to the content items.

EIHL logo

The Elite Ice Hockey League (EIHL)

The Sheffield Steelers play in the EIHL, which is a professional ice hockey league in the United Kingdom.

Formed in 2003, the EIHL is the highest level of ice hockey competition in the United Kingdom.

There are 12 teams within the league, and is divided into 3 conferences of 4 teams each.

The conferences are as follows:

  • Braehead Clan
  • Dundee Stars
  • Edinburgh Capitals
  • Fife Flyers
  • Coventry Blaze
  • Guildford Flames
  • Milton Keynes Lightning
  • Manchester Storm
  • Belfast Giants
  • Cardiff Devils
  • Nottingham Panthers
  • Sheffield Steelers

The league consists of 56 regular season games. Each team plays within their own conference 4 home & 4 away giving 24 self-conference games. They would then also play cross-conference teams 2 home & 2 away giving 32 cross-conference games.

The EIHL is the only UK league, and ice hockey is the only sport, to include teams from England, Wales, Scotland and Northern ireland, and is therefore truly British.